Peat railway, Eday
Supported early 20th‑century energy needs for homes and industry
Key Facts
Established in 1925, the Eday Peat Company extracted peat from the deep moss around Noup Hill in the north part of the island. Dried peats were exported from Eday to Kirkwall and Stromness to fuel domestic fires, and further afield to whisky distilleries in Orkney and mainland Scotland. This provided income for the estate and employment on the island. The company came to an end around the time of the Second World War.
Just to the south of the Calfsound Light, a short funicular railway was used to transfer peats from carts to boats from a stone-built pier. There are remains of a short cutting from the shore edge with two sets of parallel iron rails in the base, with the remains of a wagon nearby. Only the foundations of the pier survive.
